top of page
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Thumbs-up or Thumbs-down on the New Names for the Hershey Centre and Air Canada Centre

It was announced in 2017 that the Air Canada Centre, home of the Toronto Maple Leafs and Toronto Raptors, was to be renamed the "Scotiabank Arena" sometime in 2018.

To be perfectly frank, I hate the new name. It's just unfamiliar to me. On top of being so used to calling the place where the Raptors play the ACC, or Air Canada Centre, there is another stadium, this one in Halifax, Nova Scotia, that goes by virtually the exact same name: the Scotiabank Centre. It's the same thing. However, after some time, just like I got used to calling the formerly-named NBA development league, the "D-league", by it's new name the "G-League", I believe I will become used to calling the ACC by it's own new name.

Verdict: Thumbs-up

Although the announcement seems to have gone unnoticed by many, including myself, the Hershey Centre, home to the Toronto Raptors G-League team, Raptors 905, has been renamed the "Paramount Fine Foods Centre". Sticking with the food theme, this stadium has been renamed after the Middle Eastern restaurant chain that has become perhaps my favourite restaurant chain of them all. Unfortunately, due to the name just not being able to roll off the tongue and me not being able to get used to saying it like I can the Scotiabank Arena, I can't get behind this new name for the stadium formerly known as the Hershey Centre.

Verdict: Thumbs-down

bottom of page